top of page

Day 22 of Prayer

Daily Scripture

“The heavens declare the glory of God; the skies proclaim the work of his hands. Day after day they pour forth speech; night after night they reveal knowledge. They have no speech, they use no words; no sound is heard from them. Yet their voice goes out into all the earth, their words to the ends of the world.” Psalm 19:1-4

Daily Devotional

Some of my most memorable prayer times have been at night, basking in God’s glory underneath the stars. Something about sitting beneath the stars fills me such peace. I have similar experiences when I peer down from the top of the mountain or sit in the sand listening to the waves. I believe in these moments I am filled with peace because God’s creation reminds us how significant, great, and powerful God is and how insignificant, normal, and powerless we are. And this fills me with peace. Why? Because it reminds me that I don’t have to be in control of everything. That there is a God, and I am not Him. The God who created the beautiful creation surrounding us from nothing is bigger than all the problems in the world, including my many petty personal problems. In the last few weeks, there have been challenges to pray harder, more faithfully, and to pray challenging prayers. This is certainly a difficult calling when we forget who we are praying to. Psalm 19 shows us a quick way to remember the glory of God- simply take some time to be still and admire his creation. Without any words, the works of God’s hands send us a powerful message about the God we serve.

Daily Challenge

Today, take some time throughout your day to let God’s creation speak to you. Perhaps you have time (and live in a place warm enough) where you can spend some time praying at a park or a lake. Or maybe you just need to spend thirty seconds peering up at the sky, admiring the clouds or the stars. Wherever you are, there is creation to admire. Even in the bustling city center of Madrid where I live, there is creation to be admired. Then when you pray, praise God for his “invisible attributes, namely, his eternal power and divine nature” (Romans 1:20) that are clearly shown to use through the creation that surround us and remember that God is more powerful than anything in this world.


bottom of page